MEMS is a public, non-profit entity, and is governed by the Little Rock Ambulance Authority (LRAA). 

Serving Pulaski and Grant Counties the cities of Maumelle, Sherwood & Cabot. MEMS covers approximately 1,800 square miles and over 400,000 people.

Since 2004, MEMS has been accredited with the Commission on Accreditation of Ambulance Services (CAAS) which signifies a “Gold Standard” in emergency medical service providers.

MEMS serves as a secondary Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) to area 911 agencies, providing all medical pre-arrival instructions directly to 911 callers.  

All of MEMS ambulances are dispatched by a state-of-the-art communications center and is recognized as an Accredited Center of Excellence (ACE) by the International Academies of Emergency Dispatch (IAED).