MEMS to Pin Seven New Captains

March 21, 2022

Media Contact:
Bailey Moll


MEMS to Pin Seven New Captains

Metropolitan Emergency Medical Services (MEMS) will host a pinning ceremony for seven new captains on Monday, March 21, 2022, at 4:30 p.m. Greg Thompson, executive director of MEMS, will lead the ceremony.

Captains are tenured paramedics who also serve as field supervisors and field-training officers. The selection process is competitive; 20 candidates applied and seven were selected. Candidates must have excelled in a number of areas, including performance, clinical skills, and leadership.

The seven new captains have a collective 98 years of EMS experience.  

The new MEMS Captains are:

  • Shawn Allen
  • Justin Carter
  • Patrick Harwell
  • Cody Hughes
  • Erin Hunt
  • Mitchell Weaver
  • Tamitria Willis

MEMS Headquarters/ “Station One”
1121 W 7th Street
Little Rock, AR 72201

Monday, March 21, 2022
4:30 p.m.

MEMS is a public, non-profit entity, and is governed by the Little Rock Ambulance Authority (LRAA). Serving Pulaski and Grant Counties and the cities of Maumelle, Sherwood, and Cabot, MEMS covers approximately 1,800 square miles and more than 400,000 people. Since 2004, MEMS has been accredited with the Commission on Accreditation of Ambulance Services (CAAS) which signifies a “Gold Standard” in emergency medical service providers.